Council for Higher
Education Accreditation

One Dupont Circle NW
Suite 510
Washington, DC 20036
(tel) 202-955-6126
(fax) 202-955-6129



Secretary of Education Announces Appointments

On December 17, 2009, Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the U.S. Department of Education’s (USDE) appointments to the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI). The Committee advises the Secretary on matters related to accreditation, including decisions to recognize accrediting organizations. NACIQI was changed by the Higher Education Opportunity Act of 2008 (HEAO) from a 15-member committee appointed solely by USDE to an 18-member committee, with USDE, the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives each appointing six members.

The members appointed by Secretary Duncan for three-year terms are:

  • Earl Lewis, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Emory University
  • Susan Phillips, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Albany State University
  • Jamienne Studley, President and CEO, Public Advocates Inc.
  • Aron Shimles, Student, Occidental College
  • Frank Wu, Professor, Howard University Law School
  • Frederico Zargoza, Vice Chancellor of Economic and Workforce Development, Alamo Colleges

Thus far, Senate appointments to NACIQI are Dan Klaich, Chancellor of the Nevada System of Higher Education, appointed by Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nevada), and Cameron Staples, member of the Connecticut State House of Representatives, appointed by Senator Chris Dodd (D-Connecticut). The House of Representatives has not yet made any appointments.

According to USDE, other appointments from the Senate and House of Representatives are expected “shortly.” Once all appointments have been made, a meeting of NACIQI will be announced. The Committee – which meets twice yearly in Washington with the Secretary of Education – has not met since June 2008.

© 2009 Council for Higher Education Accreditation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use.